That time I Jedi mind tricked my adviser


My new adviser is an ass. I have a natural connection with asses of all sorts. I just get them, maybe because I too am an ass. Anyway, so I walk into his office. He immediately asks me “What do you wanna be when you grow up.” To which I promptly answered-

“Everything”

Right?

Anyway, he told me I couln’t be everything.

I thought “Uh-huh, I can too.”

He was very grouchy, I could tell that he is one of those professors who puts a lot of expectations on his more promising students only to end up dissapointed and frustrated, at least for the most part. He is a humanist (what liberal arts professor isn’t?) and humanist are always dissapointed because people aren’t ever as cool as they could be. Anyway, so when he started acting like he wasn’t going to let me in the program, I knew action was needed.

So I said to him,

“You are going to like me. You are going to want me in every one of your classes.”

I really said it, I didn’t say something like it, I didn’t imply it, I didn’t minipulate him into anything. I just simply stated what I knew what true.

It worked. People want to be told how to feel. As much as we pride our selves on our independence, sometimes it is nice to just have that pressure taken away.

By the end of our conversation I had gleened 3 high fives, one “hell yeah,” a postponment of the staff meeting (which he was suppossed to be leading), and an offer for an internship under him.

I also got a

“Your right, I do like you.”

The force is with me.

4 thoughts on “That time I Jedi mind tricked my adviser

  1. Jude sez: “He was very grouchy, I could tell that he is one of those professors who puts a lot of expectations on his more promising students only to end up dissapointed and frustrated, at least for the most part. He is a humanist (what liberal arts professor isn’t?) and humanist are always dissapointed because people aren’t ever as cool as they could be. Anyway, so when he started acting like he wasn’t going to let me in the program, I knew action was needed.”

    (Betchu never thought I’d see this.)

    Sorry you thought I was grouchy. I wasn’t (although I DO get grouchy) – you oughta see me when I am. I am also a Christian. I do expect more of my more promising students – mostly because they can (and do) do more (and better) than students who are only interested in getting a degree rather than an education. I’m hardly ever disappointed. I usually proud of my students – especially when they succeed. I was never not going to let you into the program. I wanted to know what you wanted to do so’s I could point you in the right direction. No one is ever as cool as they could be – we all have warts. But, no one is ever as much of a dufus as you think – we all have endearing and cool attributes if you take the time to look. Even old white dudes. So when I saw this cheeky blog I knew I had to take action….

    Bless you my child and welcome to the program! You’ll do just fine! 🙂

    “Remember Unity is always at least two.” R. Buckminster Fuller

Leave a Reply

