Church…


I could turn my head and swing this 2×4 all around.
save you from the speck but for the sound
of hypocrisy
then it occurs to me
to wonder do any of us really get it at all?

I see these words i have scribbled, i see the coffee i drank.
I see the hopes of others and I see hearts that I have sank.
like battle ships all blue and red, Id be fine but for the words I have said.
I don’t know God at all, but he knows me, and I’m afraid.
so big and so full of eternal fire and all the energy from what he’s made.
I’m just, I’m just full of me, with no right to be
anything better then what i have been.

And Ohhhh, ohhhh, God is a song.
and ohhhh, ohhhh, sung by time.
and ohhhh, ohhhh, Jesus wasn’t baptist
and ohhhh, ohhhh, neither am I.
And he ate with hookers
and drank with sailors and the roughest
men he could find.
Ohhhh, Jesus wasn’t baptist, so neither am I.

Now i hear the church bells so i sit for a Sunday
but i hear nothing in the pews but grumbling grumbling
and i think I will never find him here.
I will never find him here.
So I head to the woods and wait by the old tree
and then i sit and I talk with the deer.
And the wind rushes by
and it’s worship this time.
and it’s worship this time.

And Ohhhh, ohhhh, God is a song.
and ohhhh, ohhhh, sung by time.
and ohhhh, ohhhh, Jesus wasn’t baptist
and ohhhh, ohhhh, neither am I.
And he ate with hookers
and drank with sailors and the roughest
men he could find.
Ohhhh, Jesus wasn’t baptist, so neither am I.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Church…

  1. do you have something against being baptist? if its lables your concerned about what about the church of christ or presbeterians (yeah i know i spelt that wrong, lol) as well.

  2. I don’t have anything against baptist on the whole, I just know what I have experienced and that is what I write from. As far as Presbyterians, well they are a very different bunch with a completely different attitude toward people. And Church of Christ, well I happen to think they are very adamant about living right and loving people. I don’t hate organized religion, but I do think at the end of the day none of it matters if you miss who Christ really is. Unfortunately most of the Baptist I know, who claim the title vehemently at least, do miss the real calling. I guess I just don’t like “meeting the status quo” instead of just loving people.

Leave a Reply

